Five major ports to assist in waterways development

The government has instructed five major ports to assist in the development of inland waterways in their vicinity. In a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha recently, the Minister of State for Shipping and Finance Pon Radhakrishnan informed that to make use of the complementarity between development of inland water transportation and major ports, directions have been issued by the Government on 18th April, 2018 to five Major Port Trusts viz. Paradip, Mormugao, JNPT, New Mangalore and Deendayal to take up development of the National Waterways (NWs) which are located in their vicinity.

As per the explained modality, New Mangalore Port Trust will be undertaking nine projects in its vicinity while JNPT has been asked to spearhead 11 inland waterways projects.The major ports will undertake the development of National Waterways through release of grants by the Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI).

Spread the love

Related posts

Leave a Comment